Electronic Knights 2021 Semi-Final



I wrongfully noted move 18 on April 28th. Douglas informed me on July 28th about the situation. Other then sending move reminder I never heard back from Douglas including reporting the game result.

I resigned from the game to maintain my fair play and sportsmanship principles.

My mail to my opponent:

Dear Douglas, Thank you for getting back to me. I understand that we have differing views on how to handle this situation. As a player, open communication, respect for the rules, and sportsmanship are crucial aspects of correspondence chess. When I notice an error in my opponent’s recording, I immediately communicate with my opponent and rectify the mistake promptly. This situation happened three times in this “Electronic Knights” tournament section. My opponents highly appreciated this. Given the impact of the recorded error on move 18, I would like to propose two potential paths to address this matter fairly: Option A: Consider the game a draw. Since the recording error on move 18 had significant consequences, this decision would uphold the integrity of the game. Option B: Replay the game from Move 18. We can ensure a fair contest without any unintended advantages or disadvantages by starting over. I understand you have declined the draw offer previously, but I really hope you reconsider, as it would be a fair solution. Alternatively, we could consult the arbiter and wait for the decision on how best to proceed. However, if you decide not to consider either option, I will have to express my regrets, but I cannot continue the game under the current circumstances. I will resign from the game to maintain my fair play and sportsmanship principles.

Regardless of the outcome, we might meet again in a future tournament. After all, we are all swimming in the same fishbowl of the chess community, and this shared passion connects us all.

I hope we find a solution that upholds the spirit of correspondence chess and fosters mutual respect among players.

Amici Sumus,


[Event "USCF 21ENs04 - 2021 Electronic Knights"] [Site "?"] [Date "2023.03.01"] [Round "?"] [White "Stewart, Douglas"] [Black "Schroeer, Egbert"] [Result "1-0"] [ECO "B09"] [WhiteElo "1955"] [BlackElo "1947"] [Annotator "Schroeer,Egbert"] [PlyCount "56"] [EventDate "2023.03.01"] [EventType "tourn (corr)"] [EventCountry "USA"] [SourceVersionDate "2021.05.17"] 1. e4 d6 2. d4 Nf6 3. Nc3 g6 4. f4 Bg7 5. Nf3 O-O 6. Bd3 b6 7. O-O Bb7 8. Qe1 c5 9. e5 Nd5 10. Be4 dxe5 11. dxe5 Qd7 12. Bd2 Nxc3 13. Bxc3 Bxe4 14. Qxe4 Nc6 (14... Qc6 15. Qe2 Qc8) 15. Rad1 Qc8 {it seems to be the better option} 16. Rd2 Bh6 (16... Rd8 17. Rxd8+ Nxd8) 17. Rfd1 (17. g3 Qe6 18. b3 Rfd8) (17. h4) 17... Qe6 18. h3 (18. g3 Rfd8) 18... f5 19. Qe3 Rfd8 20. g3 (20. a3 Rxd2 21. Rxd2) 20... Qxa2 21. e6 Bg7 (21... Rxd2 22. Rxd2 Bg7 23. g4) 22. Bxg7 {I was expecting Rd7. I think Bxg7 is inaccuracy somehow} (22. Rd7 Bxc3 23. Qxc3 Qxe6 24. Ng5 Rxd7 25. Nxe6 Rxd1+ 26. Kf2) 22... Rxd2 23. Rxd2 Kxg7 24. Qc3+ Kg8 25. b4 $2 (25. b3 a5) 25... Qb1+ {I think that was it. I will get the pawn and a passed pawn} 26. Kg2 (26. Kf2 Qxb4 27. Qa1 a5 28. c3 Qb3 29. h4 a4 30. h5 a3 {A passed pawn advances to a3, Black has a decisive advantage}) 26... Qxb4 {I resigned from the game to maintain my fair play and sportsmanship principles. Context: I noted move 18 in April wrongly, but my opponent informed me more than a month later and claimed it was my responsibility.} 27. Qa1 a5 28. c3 Qe4 1-0